Thoughts and Prayers to Lokomotiv Yaroslavl

I was planning to right an article on the 2011 Blueliner hockey trip but following todays events that doesn’t seem right. I do not really know what to write expect following the death of 43 people including the squad of the KHL’s Lokomotiv Yaroslavl team and 4 of their youth team members that I want to write something to express my sympathies.

I was shocked not only because this was massive loss of life and an entire team but because the list of players lost included the likes of Pavol Demitra, Karlis Skrastins and Ruslan Salei, 3 players that I stayed up all night in my youth to watch play in the NHL play offs. I was further shocked as this was a team that in the spring I was watching over the internet playing in the KHL play offs. But hasn’t really sunk in yet is the scale. This was an entire team. All but two players, coach, phsyio, equipment manager.

Since hearing the news via twitter I have been touched and amazed at how close a community the hockey world is. Tweets of condolence have come from everywhere but more so the amount of players from the NHL to the British Elite League talking of their friends involved in the Lokomotiv team.

The future of team is still unknown as is expected but the KHL have said they intend to support ice hockey Yaroslavl.

All that I can really say is that my thoughts and prayers will be for the families of the Lokomotiv Yaroslavl team.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2011/sep/07/russia-plane-crash-lokomotiv-icehockey

http://www.nhl.com/ice/news.htm?id=587792&navid=DL|NHL|home

http://en.khl.ru/news/2011/9/7/24152.html

Leave a Reply

