IHJUK Awards

On Monday night the annual awards from the Ice Hockey Journalists UK were announced. The IHJUK are a body made up of journalists who cover ice hockey for the countries newspapers and online media outlets.  The awards are split into the usual categories (All star teams, best player, best goalie etc) for both the EIHL and the EPIHL.

The biggest shock was that there was no place in either EIHL All Star teams for the popular Fife Flyers goalie Garrett Zemlak. Despite his side finishing bottom of the EIHL the heroics of Zemlak had earned him plaudits from around the league with his efforts keeping the Flyers in games and included stopping over 70 shots in a penalty shootout lose to the Nottingham Panthers.

The other shock was the inclusion of the Panthers player-coach Corey Neilson in the EIHL All Star first team. Neilson was selected ahead of Sheffield Steelers stand out D man Mark Thomas and best British Defenceman Mark Richardson.

In the EPL the Sheffield Steeldogs were the surprise winners as they had 3 players present in the 2 All Star teams including young British goalie Ben Bowns and player of the season Janis Ozolins. Plus player-coach Andre Payette was named EPL coach of the year after taking his side from an 8th place finish in 2011 to a top 4 place this season with a real possibility of a high finish. Payette had been criticised heavily for his use of physical play but ice hockey is a results business and the Steeldogs have gotten plenty of those this season.


EIHL All Star Teams


G – Stephen Murphy (Belfast), D- Corey Neilson (Nottingham), D – Jeff Mason (Belfast), F- Jade Galbraith (Braehead), F- Jeff Legue (Sheffield Steelers), F- Shea Guthrie (Coventry)


G – Craig Kowalski (Nottingham), D- Jeremy Rebek (Belfast), D- James Jorgensen (Braehead), F- David Alexandre-Beauregard (Nottingham), F- Robert Dowd (Belfast), F- Rene Jarolin (Edinburgh)

Elite League Coach of the Year

Doug Christiansen (Belfast)

Elite League Player of the Year

Jade Galbraith (Braehead)

EPL ALL Star Teams


G- Ben Bowns (Sheffield Steeldogs), D- Chris Allen (Peterborough), D- Paul Dixon (Guildford), F- Janis Ozolins (Sheffield Steeldogs), F- Nathan Rempel (Guildford) F- Leigh Jamieson (Milton Keynes)


G- Mark Lee (Guildford), D- Ben Morgan (Sheffield Steeldogs), D- David Savage (Guildford), F- Martin Cingel (Manchester), F- David Longstaff (Guildford), F- Darius Pilskauskas (Slough)

EPL Coach of the Year

Andre Payette (Sheffield Steeldogs)

EPL Player of the Year

Janis Ozolins (Sheffield Steeldogs)

Best British Goalie

Stephen Murphy (Belfast)

Best British Defenseman

Mark Richardson (Cardiff)

Best British Forward

Robert Dowd (Belfast)

Best British Young Player

Robert Farmer (Coventry)

You can find this article on www.getrealhockey.com as well


4 thoughts on “IHJUK Awards

  1. Hello There. I discovered your weblog using msn. That is a really smartly written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thank you for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  2. It’s really a great and useful piece of information. I’m happy that you shared this useful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Woah this blog is great i really like reading your posts. Stay up the good paintings! You realize, many people are searching around for this info, you can aid them greatly.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s